Who leads in Ballykeel Church?

The Kirk Session, and Committee

In the Presbyterian Church we organise our leadership roles through a democratic vote of the congregation. The main body of men who serve in leadership are the elders of the Kirk Session. The word Kirk comes from the original Greek New Testament word for Church.

Francis McKendry is our Clerk of Kirk Session. He looks after the administrative duties of the elders. Martin McNeely is our teaching elder. He ministers the Bible teaching, helps co-ordinate discipleship as well as attending to pastoral care needs. There are 6 elders who visit and pastor to the 8 districts of our congregation. The districts comprise families who attend or who have a strong link with our Church. At present we have 160 families.

The majority of our Church live within a mile of the meeting place, but we have many members spread throughout the Ballymena and Braid Valley districts. The Kirk Session meet usually every month to pray and work through the spiritual principles of the Church.

Another word for the Committee is the Diaconate, or Deacons, from the Bible word which means ‘helper’. This is the group of men and women who assist with the practical running of Ballykeel Church. The main office holders are Malcolm McCosh, Chairman, Micheal Scroggie, Treasurer and Marie Shiels, Secretary. They meet every other month as well as sharing in the weekly duties of our meeting on Sundays.

Ballykeel Presbyterian Church
23 Crebilly Rd‎,
Ballymena, County Antrim,
BT42 4DN United Kingdom
© Ballykeel Presbyterian Church